News Flash

City News - Archive

Posted on: December 5, 2022

Anaheim to usher in new mayor, three incoming City Council members on Tuesday

Oath PR

ANAHEIM, Calif. (Dec. 4, 2022) — Anaheim is set administer the oath of office and swear in a new mayor and three other incoming City Council members on Tuesday.


The incoming mayor and Council members were elected by Anaheim voters in the Nov. 8 election, the results of were certified on Dec. 2 after several weeks of vote counting by the Orange County Registrar of Voters.


The oath of office ceremony takes place at 5 p.m. at the River Arena, at 201 E. Broadway next to City Hall.


You can join us in person or watch live on Anaheim TV on Spectrum channel 3 or on

Mayor-Elect Aitken 


Ashleigh E. Aitken is set to be sworn in as Anaheim’s 48th mayor and as the first woman mayor in the city’s 165-year history.


Mayor-Elect Aitken prevailed with more than 29,000 votes in a four-way race for Anaheim’s mayor seat. Outgoing Mayor Pro Tem Trevor O’Neil finished second with more than 23,000 votes.


Aitken’s election and swearing in fills a vacancy in the mayor’s seat since May, when Harry Sidhu stepped down amid a federal investigation of the former mayor and a former Anaheim Chamber of Commerce executive. You can read more here.


As incoming mayor, Aitken will represent all Anaheim residents, neighborhoods and businesses on the City Council.


Aitken is focused on increased transparency at City Hall, enhancing public safety, expanding affordable housing, and growing Anaheim’s economy by supporting our visitor industry and streamlining processes so employers can expand and attract new industries.

Council Member-Elect Leon, District 2

Carlos A. Leon is set to be sworn in as City Council member for District 2, covering part of west Anaheim roughly from Euclid Street to Magnolia Avenue.


Leon prevailed in a close two-way race with outgoing District 2 Council Member Gloria Ma’ae, who was appointed to the seat in September 2021. Leon received nearly 5,000 votes, 78 more than Ma’ae.


On the Council, Council Member-Elect Leon is focused on addressing homelessness and affordable housing, youth programs, promoting youth entrepreneurship and small businesses, improving public safety, streets, sidewalks, parking and other neighborhood revitalization in District 2.


Council Member-Elect Rubalcava, District 3

Natalie Rubalcava is set to be sworn in as City Council member for District 3 in central Anaheim made up largely of downtown and the historic Anaheim Colony, where our city began in 1857.


Rubalcava prevailed in a two-way race for a seat opened by the concluding term of outgoing District 3 Council Member Jose F. Moreno. Rubalcava received nearly 5,500 votes, or nearly 1,500 more than Al Jabbar, who serves as chief of staff for Orange County Supervisor Doug Chaffee and also ran for the seat.


On the Council, Council Member-Elect Rubalcava is focused on addressing the root causes of homelessness, ensuring the protection of neighborhoods through responsive public safety, the creation of good-paying jobs through business expansion and retention and securing funding for streets, sidewalks and parks.

Council Member-Elect Meeks, District 6


Natalie Meeks is set to be sworn in as Council member for District 6 in east Anaheim, made up of Anaheim Hills and part of The Anaheim Canyon business area


Meeks prevailed in a two-way race with more than 14,000 votes, 8,000-plus more than Hari Lal, a consumer advocate lawyer who also ran for the seat that opened by outgoing District 6 Council Member and Mayor Pro Tem O’Neil’s run for the mayor seat.


On the City Council, Council Member-Elect Meeks is focused on safety and quality of life issues through adding officers to the Anaheim Police Department, reducing crime, addressing homelessness, improving fire evacuation in Anaheim Hills and expanding and building on the area’s parks, trails and libraries.


The newly elected mayor and Council members will join continuing members Jose Diaz, who represents west Anaheim’s District 1, and Steve Faessel, who represents District 5 in central-east Anaheim.

District 4 vacancy


Former Council member Avelino Valencia, who had represented District 4 in central-south Anaheim, stepped down from the Council effective Dec. 4 with his election to the California Assembly representing the 68th district, which includes Anaheim.


In coming weeks, the City Council is expected to consider an appointment to fill the District 4 vacancy. You can read more here.


On Tuesday, Anaheim’s current and outgoing Council members will convene at 3 p.m. in City Hall’s Council Chambers to receive and accept the election results.


At 4 p.m., a thank you reception will be held at City Hall for outgoing Mayor Pro Tem O’Neil and departing Council members Ma’ae and Moreno.


At 5 p.m., current and outgoing Council members will convene at the River Arena for the oath of office ceremony, which will usher in Anaheim’s new mayor and Council members.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City News - Archive

bhp 2024

Black History Parade & Unity Festival

Posted on: January 31, 2024
Poet laureate

Anaheim seeks our next poet laureate

Posted on: February 7, 2024
Cold weather shelter bed image

Overnight shelter program starts Sunday in Anaheim

Posted on: February 1, 2024 | Last Modified on: February 4, 2022
bhp 2024

Black History Parade & Unity Festival

Posted on: January 31, 2024
Veterans Day

Anaheim to honor our veterans

Posted on: November 6, 2023
Storm tracking city news

Storm tracking: Sunday morning update

Posted on: August 20, 2023
Storm tracking city news

Strom tracking: midday Saturday update

Posted on: August 18, 2023
for press release

Anaheim website gets a makeover

Posted on: February 25, 2022