News Flash

City News - Archive

Posted on: December 6, 2022

Anaheim ushers in new mayor, three City Council members

oath of office 12-7-22

ANAHEIM, Calif. (Dec. 6, 2022) — Anaheim administered the oath of office to a new mayor and three other incoming City Council members on Tuesday.


The city’s new mayor and Council members were elected by Anaheim voters in the Nov. 8 election, the results of were certified on Dec. 2 after several weeks of vote counting by the Orange County Registrar of Voters.

You can watch the oath of office ceremony here.


Mayor Aitken 


Ashleigh E. Aitken is now Anaheim’s 48th mayor and the first woman mayor in the city’s 165-year history.


As mayor, Aitken represents all Anaheim residents, neighborhoods and businesses on the City Council, as reflected in the “we are Anaheim” theme of her oath of office remarks.


Aitken is focused on increased transparency at City Hall, enhancing public safety, expanding affordable housing, and growing Anaheim’s economy by supporting our visitor industry and streamlining processes so employers can expand and attract new industries.


Council Member Leon, District 2

Carlos A. Leon is now Council member for District 2, covering part of west Anaheim roughly from Euclid Street to Magnolia Avenue.


On the Council, Council Member Leon is focused on addressing homelessness and affordable housing, youth programs, promoting youth entrepreneurship and small businesses, improving public safety, streets, sidewalks, parking and other neighborhood revitalization in District 2.


Council Member-Elect Rubalcava, District 3

Natalie Rubalcava is now City Council member for District 3 in central Anaheim, made up largely of downtown and the historic Anaheim Colony, where our city began in 1857.


On the Council, Council Member Rubalcava is focused on addressing the root causes of homelessness, ensuring the protection of neighborhoods through responsive public safety, the creation of good-paying jobs through business expansion and retention and securing funding for streets, sidewalks and parks.


Council Member Meeks, District 6


Natalie Meeks is now Council member for District 6 in east Anaheim, made up of Anaheim Hills and part of The Anaheim Canyon business area


On the City Council, Council Member Meeks is focused on safety and quality of life issues through adding officers to the Anaheim Police Department, reducing crime, addressing homelessness, improving fire evacuation in Anaheim Hills and expanding and building on the area’s parks, trails and libraries.


The newly elected mayor and Council members join continuing members Jose Diaz, who represents west Anaheim’s District 1, and Steve Faessel, who represents District 5 in central-east Anaheim.


District 4 vacancy


Former Council member Avelino Valencia, who had represented District 4 in central-south Anaheim, stepped down from the Council effective Dec. 4 with his election to the California Assembly representing the 68th district, which includes Anaheim.


In coming weeks, the City Council is expected to consider an appointment to fill the District 4 vacancy. You can read more here.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City News - Archive

bhp 2024

Black History Parade & Unity Festival

Posted on: January 31, 2024
Poet laureate

Anaheim seeks our next poet laureate

Posted on: February 7, 2024
Cold weather shelter bed image

Overnight shelter program starts Sunday in Anaheim

Posted on: February 1, 2024 | Last Modified on: February 4, 2022
bhp 2024

Black History Parade & Unity Festival

Posted on: January 31, 2024
Veterans Day

Anaheim to honor our veterans

Posted on: November 6, 2023
Storm tracking city news

Storm tracking: Sunday morning update

Posted on: August 20, 2023
Storm tracking city news

Strom tracking: midday Saturday update

Posted on: August 18, 2023
for press release

Anaheim website gets a makeover

Posted on: February 25, 2022